Health News Review
  • Feb 21 2012

    Breast Cancer & Social Media tweetchat

    I was pleased to be asked to be the guest on the #BCSM (Breast Cancer & Social Media) twitter chat last night (Monday, Feb. 20). This is a community that meets online every Monday night at 9 pm Eastern, 8 pm Central, 6 pm Pacific time. One of the hosts, and chat co-founders, Jody Schoger, [...]

    1 Comment
  • Jan 9 2012

    Health and medicine blog carnivals

    The following cross-post was originally published by Barbara Feder Ostrov, deputy editor of ReportingonHealth.org. I’ve been a frequent contributor to the Health Wonk Review (#2 on her list) and hosted the carnival on December 22. ———————————————————————————————————————————————– One of my New Year’s resolutions is to read more of the insightful health and medicine blog posts that [...]

    No Comments 1 Star
  • Dec 2 2011

    Meet the Website Editorial Director…who doesn’t exist

    A website called VibrantNation.com describes itself as “the leading online community for Baby Boomer women – the place where they connect and support each other on issues unique to life after 50.” I don’t know about that. But I do think they’ve done the oddest thing I’ve ever seen on their Staff listing page.The following [...]

    21 Comments 1 Star
  • Jul 8 2011

    Twitter messages by AARP & Men’s Health magazine misleading about real meat of lung CT scan stories

    This is not a lesson about the limitations of 140-character messages on Twitter. Rather, it is a warning about careless Tweets that mischaracterize the real meat of the message in longer stories linked to in the Twitter message. As I wrote on Twitter in response to these two episodes, “Better not to Tweet on complex [...]

    4 Comments