Note to our followers: Our nearly 13-year run of daily publication of new content on came to a close at the end of 2018. Publisher Gary Schwitzer and other contributors may post new articles periodically. But all of the 6,000+ articles we have published contain lessons to help you improve your critical thinking about health care interventions. And those will be still be alive on the site for a couple of years.

Thanks to American Medical Writers Association for recognizing our work

At its annual conference in Memphis this week, the American Medical Writers Association presented me with the John P. McGovern Award for preeminent contributions to medical communication.

Here are the slides of my award lecture to a terrific turnout of more than 600 people.

I told the conference attendees that it was humbling to receive the award, knowing that it had been given in the past to people such as Jerome Groopman, Sherwin Nuland, Anthony Fauci, John K. Iglehart, and George Lundberg.

I concluded my remarks in this way:

“In truth, this work has often been a lonely path.  You lose some friends and make some enemies when you’re doing watchdog work.  I lost funding for the project for 16 months. In the face of all of this – the daily dreck, reviewing thousands of stories, seeing the same flaws over and over, it’s especially gratifying to receive this recognition for past efforts. I’ve been very fortunate to be able to do what I do.”


Follow us on Twitter:

and on Facebook.

You might also like


Please note, comments are no longer published through this website. All previously made comments are still archived and available for viewing through select posts.

Comments are closed.